California prohibits people under the influence of alcohol and drugs from driving. Violators can be charged with driving under the influence (DUI), also known as driving while intoxicated (DWI). Additionally, people who have a blood alcohol concentration that exceeds that state’s standards can also face a per se DUI case.
If you’re charged with any type of DUI case, turn to a Chula Vista DUI defense attorney who’ll represent you intelligently at court.
It is highly advisable to hire a qualified, experienced and effective DUI lawyer in order to resolve your case in the most favorable way possible. Attorney Troy P. Owens, Jr. provides aggressive, personalized DUI representation.
Basics of DUI/DWI
For an adult 21 years of age or older, It is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content level, or BAC, of .08 or higher. For commercial vehicle operators it is illegal to drive with a BAC of .04 or higher. Drivers under the age of 21 may not have a BAC exceeding .01.
DUI penalties depend on various circumstances, including the following:
- Whether the driver has any previous DUI convictions within the past ten years
- The amount of alcohol in the blood
- Whether anyone was injured or killed
DUI/DWI Fines and Penalties
The following is a brief overview of DUI fines and penalties. For specific information related to your case, please contact Attorney Owens.
A first DUI may result in up to six months in jail, a fine ranging from $390 to $1,000, driver’s license suspension ranging from 30 days to 10 months, DUI school.
A second DUI may result in 96 hours to a year in jail, a fine ranging from $390 to $1,000, driver’s license suspension up to two years, DUI school.
A third DUI may result in 120 days to one year in jail, a fine ranging from $390 to $1,000, driver’s license suspension up to three years, DUI school.
DUI’s with injuries may result in misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the circumstances. More serious felonies can result in sentences of 16 years and fines may reach $5000. Restitution will often be required to pay for damages.
In many instances the court will require the installation of an ignition interlock device. The driver must blow into the device in order for the vehicle to start. If there is alcohol in the breath the vehicle will not start. Other sanctions may be added, depending on the circumstances of your case.
Ten Days to Request DMV Hearing
In California, there is only a ten day window to request a DMV hearing. This is extremely important and can result in postponement or setting aside of your driver’s license suspension. It is highly advisable to contact our Chula Vista DWI defense attorney as soon as possible so he can represent you in all phases of your case. Contact Attorney Owens for a free case review.